The David Black Award

This prestigious award has been honouring exceptional contributions to the pig industry for over 60 years. Inspired by East Anglian pig farmer David Black, this accolade is awarded to an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding impact on the British pig sector during the course of their work. The award has previously celebrated those from across the industry, including producers, processors, academics and the allied industry.

The David Black Award is judged by an independent panel. The winner is announced at the National Pig Awards, and the award is presented by AHDB. 

Angela Christison, AHDB Pork Strategy Director and chair of the independent judging panel, commented: "The David Black Award has huge historic importance and is as relevant today as over 60 years ago. Excellent nutrition has never been so vital for the health and wellbeing of the nation, and so many are working hard to keep producing, processing and promoting English pig meat.

Celebrating the extraordinary impact of individuals or groups of people that represent the best of our industry is essential at any time, but never more so than in the current climate.”

You can nominate a worthy candidate for the 2024 David Black Award by clicking here and heading to the AHDB website.

David Black Award Winner 2023

In 2023, the David Black Award was given to Hugh Crabtree (pictured below); presented by last year’s winner Dr Zoe Leach OBE, National Farmers Union (NFU) East Regional Director, at the National Pig Awards in London on 20 November.

Mike Sheldon, Chair of AHDB’s Pork Sector Council, said: “The award honours [Hugh's] lifelong dedication, pioneering spirit, and outstanding contributions to the British pig sector. His commitment to improving the industry's welfare and production standards has left an indelible mark, and this recognition is a testament to his profound impact.” To read more about 2023 David Black Award winner Hugh Crabtree, click here.

Previous Winners

2022 Zoe Davies

2021 Professor Jim Scudamore

2020 Marcus Bates

2019 Richard Lister

2018 Mick Sloyan

2017 Charlie Allen

2016 Susanna Williamson

2015 Andrew Knowles

2014 Ladies in Pigs

2013 Pete Bown

2012 Heather Jenkins

2011 Paul Toplis

2010 Meryl Ward

2009 Prof Sandra Edward

Organised By


In Association With

Supported By