Chris Brant Award

Honouring the 'grassroots heroes'

The NPA Chris Brant Award, named after producer and pig industry activist Chris Brant, will once again be presented at the National Pig Awards. All entries are nominated by industry peers and judged by pig producers and members of the allied industries. The award continues to grow in stature and dates back to 1999 when it was presented to Chris, who died in July 2009, and John Cusson at the People in Pigs event, in East Yorkshire.

“Chris Brant was hard-working, blunt, rambunctious, a talented pig producer and as straight as a gun barrel. And he never, ever, failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him,” Richard Longthorp said. In memory of the man, the award’s guiding principles state: “The Chris Brant Award is not about doing your paid job well, or even about doing it very well, it’s about consistently going the extra mile on behalf of the industry, without thought of personal reward.”

To nominate someone for the Chris Brant Award, please email with your nomination and a few words explaining why you think they deserve the award.

Chris Brant Award Winner 2023

In 2023, the NPA’s Chris Brant Award was won by Sam Godfrey (pictured below left). The award was presented to Sam by NPA Board Member Rob Mutimer, and is recognition for all Sam has done for the industry over the years as a leading pig producer and in lobbying for the industry as an NPA producer representative, particularly on environmental policy.

Previous Winners

2022 Anna Longthorp

2021 Duncan Berkshire

2020 Zoe Davis

2019 Colin Stone

2018 Rita Wells

2017 Sam Walton

2016 Richard Lister

2016 NPA team – Special Award

2015 Jimmy Butler

2014 Digby Scott

2013 Jonathan French

2012 Peter Crichton

2011 Nick White

2011 Digby and Ann Scott – Special Award

2010 Nigel Penlington

2009 Hugh Crabtree

Organised By


In Association With

Supported By